New to me R1

Talk about sportbikes here.

Re: New to me R1

Postby edwardk » Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:56 pm

The Power Commander V has the ability to self tune via O2 sensor (see http://www.powercommander.com/powercommander/products/AutoTune/powercommander_autotune.aspx
You should be able to load a base tune to it first, then perfect it.
zx9 Nick wrote:Pimp is as Pimp does...
User avatar
edwardk
Site Supporter 2012
Site Supporter 2012
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:03 pm
Location: Sherwood
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Bike: 06 R1
My real first name: Take a guess...

Re: New to me R1

Postby FZ1Rider » Sun Mar 31, 2013 8:53 pm

On a bit of a different note, what the heck am I doing wrong with my master link? It will not go all the way on. I didn't have this much trouble getting it off there.
User avatar
FZ1Rider
Site Supporter 2011
Site Supporter 2011
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:12 pm
Location: Sherwood, AR.
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: New to me R1

Postby IGpoobah » Sun Mar 31, 2013 9:42 pm

Clip type? Try pressing it on with a c- clamp if you don't have a chain press tool.
User avatar
IGpoobah
I am the spaminator
 
Posts: 3216
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Austin, AR.
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Bike: 02 ZX6R
My real first name: Eric

Re: New to me R1

Postby rollonhard » Sun Mar 31, 2013 10:26 pm

I've got bazzaz tuner on my 07. It has the capability to self tune with an O2 sensor as well. Only thing is you have to but the 300 dollar box that goes with it. Then run it and download the suggested adjustments to make. Kinda a pain in the butt but worth it.
User avatar
rollonhard
Now yer cookin'
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:19 pm
Location: Benton
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Bike: 07 Yamaha R1

Re: New to me R1

Postby FZ1Rider » Sun Mar 31, 2013 10:42 pm

IGpoobah wrote:Clip type? Try pressing it on with a c- clamp if you don't have a chain press tool.


Yea, I was just thinking about a C-clamp with a small sleeve or nut to make room for the pin coming threw. I'll give it a try tomorrow. Thanks
User avatar
FZ1Rider
Site Supporter 2011
Site Supporter 2011
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:12 pm
Location: Sherwood, AR.
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: New to me R1

Postby FZ1Rider » Sun Apr 07, 2013 12:53 pm

Another question, I've got the rear tire and rear brake mount back on, but I don't like the way the caliper mount is loose. Why? I didn't notice this on disassemble.
User avatar
FZ1Rider
Site Supporter 2011
Site Supporter 2011
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:12 pm
Location: Sherwood, AR.
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: New to me R1

Postby rockerphotographer » Sun Apr 07, 2013 4:47 pm

Double check your rear axle nut torque.

Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2
User avatar
rockerphotographer
Site Supporter 2012
Site Supporter 2012
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 8:31 am
Location: In da Ghetto
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times
Bike: Chinese Mini Chopper
My real first name: Clint

Re: New to me R1

Postby IGpoobah » Sun Apr 07, 2013 5:41 pm

You didn't leave a spacer out or anything did you?
User avatar
IGpoobah
I am the spaminator
 
Posts: 3216
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Austin, AR.
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Bike: 02 ZX6R
My real first name: Eric

Re: New to me R1

Postby FZ1Rider » Sun Apr 07, 2013 5:47 pm

Yea, torque is good. If there's a shim between the wheel and bracket, I didn't have it. It's coming back off. Had a swing arm extension on it, I took it off. Now the bracket is sloppy loose.
User avatar
FZ1Rider
Site Supporter 2011
Site Supporter 2011
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:12 pm
Location: Sherwood, AR.
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: New to me R1

Postby IGpoobah » Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:58 pm

All bikes I have seen have a spacer. Get online and find a microfishe at a dealer site and check the rear axle assembly.
User avatar
IGpoobah
I am the spaminator
 
Posts: 3216
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Austin, AR.
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Bike: 02 ZX6R
My real first name: Eric

Re: New to me R1

Postby Jon » Mon Apr 08, 2013 8:32 am

The 04 doesnt have a spacer, other than the sleeve in the hub(dont see one in the parts diagram for '09 either). Is the mount itself loose, or is the caliper floating? When you first install, if the pads have been backed off to allow easy re-install, the caliper will float and feel like something is wrong. Pump up your rear brakes and see if it goes away. Otherwise, the only thing that could be missing is the sleeve that goes in the hub on the wheel.


Also the mount has a groove in it, and the swingarm has a Key so to speak that has to be lined up before stabbing the axle through.
'12 HD Wide Glide Metallic Blue Flame
'04 YZF R1 Velocity Stacks, race filter, PC3, SATO Rearsets GP Shift, Emission blockoff plates
'82 CM400
'94 KTM 440 MXC: Big Bore 2 Stroke
'06 KX450f
User avatar
Jon
Menace to Forum Society
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 10:19 pm
Location: Bonnerdale
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Bike: '04 R1 / '12 HD WideGlide
My real first name: Jonathan

Re: New to me R1

Postby FZ1Rider » Wed Apr 10, 2013 4:40 pm

The brake mount is more like the key, with the grove in the swing arm. I'm worried that something is bent. If I hold the brake mount against the machined surface of the swing arm, the tab on the mount doesn't sit in the grove in the swing arm.
User avatar
FZ1Rider
Site Supporter 2011
Site Supporter 2011
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:12 pm
Location: Sherwood, AR.
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: New to me R1

Postby Jon » Thu Apr 11, 2013 8:10 am

That's opposite of the '04 but ok. Can you take some pictures of what your up against? I might help us see what's going on.
'12 HD Wide Glide Metallic Blue Flame
'04 YZF R1 Velocity Stacks, race filter, PC3, SATO Rearsets GP Shift, Emission blockoff plates
'82 CM400
'94 KTM 440 MXC: Big Bore 2 Stroke
'06 KX450f
User avatar
Jon
Menace to Forum Society
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 10:19 pm
Location: Bonnerdale
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Bike: '04 R1 / '12 HD WideGlide
My real first name: Jonathan

Re: New to me R1

Postby FZ1Rider » Thu Apr 11, 2013 6:54 pm

Something I looked at this afternoon, I'm now wondering if my axle bolt is too long? It's 13.25" long. I know it's metric, but that's the measurement. looks like it would be 336.5 mm. Either way, it looks like I'm running out of thread before things tighten up. I need to find out if this is a bolt issue, or should I keep looking.
User avatar
FZ1Rider
Site Supporter 2011
Site Supporter 2011
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:12 pm
Location: Sherwood, AR.
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: New to me R1

Postby Jon » Thu Apr 11, 2013 9:08 pm

nope, sounds like you've left something out. Do you have the spacers on each side of the outside of the swingarm that the chain adjuster screws butt up against installed? do you have both collar/sleeves in the wheel hub? Somethings missing. Parts im talking about are 19, 21, 23, and 24 in the rear wheel parts diagram.
'12 HD Wide Glide Metallic Blue Flame
'04 YZF R1 Velocity Stacks, race filter, PC3, SATO Rearsets GP Shift, Emission blockoff plates
'82 CM400
'94 KTM 440 MXC: Big Bore 2 Stroke
'06 KX450f
User avatar
Jon
Menace to Forum Society
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 10:19 pm
Location: Bonnerdale
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Bike: '04 R1 / '12 HD WideGlide
My real first name: Jonathan

PreviousNext

Return to Rocket Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests

cron